top of page

Something New in You


Since tons and tons of people are making their own renditions, their own parodies (which can be found on Youtube), I said to myself why not? Shouldn't be that hard. I'm not doing anything else with my day other than jotting down my thoughts and posting them online. So why not spend a few hours of my day to come up with a parody to lift peoples spirits by giving them a hearty laugh?


"Oh what a beautiful morning"

"Oh what a beautiful day"

"Oh what a beautiful morning"

"to stay inside and play"


That was the culmination of me sitting around for hours, just trying to find something to do to pass the time. In the midst of creating this song in my head, a stunning realization came to me. Surely, I wasn't the only one feeling this sense of boredom. There had to be more people who are trying to find things to do during their day, and unfortunately failed. In fact, proof was encountered a few days ago, when I was assisting my acting teacher with her online class. Our previous session was rather special. You see, around every 4 months or so, my acting teacher has what we call an "Industry Day". It was this whole concept of bringing someone who knew the entertainment industry well and has been fighting against competition for numerous years, be it an agent, manager, or an actor. We welcomed anyone who was willing to impart wisdom unto the next generation of thespians. This time round, we had a very famous actress named Antonique Smith, who my teacher knew very well, come in to review our students' progress. However, this wasn't in-person. It was very fun to Zoom an entire performance, almost like stepping into a big, top-dog agency interview, then being critiqued after, but only getting such criticism through your phone.


Now, if you Google Antonique Smith, you will see that she is rather famous for being a musical theater actress. Great voice, great skills, great personality. Whats not there to love about her? Honestly, it is no wonder she was cast as "Mimi" in the Broadway Musical: Rent. Anyway, she graced us with her wonderful presence at our Zoom meeting an hour after class started, which gave us enough time to prepare our students for the performance. So when Antonique came into the call, we all greeted her with the warmest smiles and the happiest of "hellos". During this greeting phase, that is when the said person that provided evidence for my previous claim appeared. Apparently, it was one of our students' parents. Amidst our Firstly, Antonique asked how everyone was doing, and I naturally thought everyone was going to say "good" or "great". However, this wasn't the case for this person. The parent spoke up and said: "Bored!" I know he meant that as a joke, just to liven up the room with laughter, but after thinking about it for a while now, I came to the realization: we are all bored. Whether we feel it or not. In this challenging time, we are all stuck at home with barely anything to do to keep us active. I even try to still do my best with finding ways to pass the time, but to no avail. Usually, not thinking about it and just staring up into the ceiling thinking about our never-ending universe and the concept of time and space works. That's a joke. You don't have to change to that ethereal and psychological mindset just to make time go faster.


I have a better idea for you.


Why don't you hone the skills you have always wanted to do in life? Take a minute to think about something you have never had the time to do, because you were always so busy with work or hanging out with friends. Guess what? You know that almost EVERYTHING has been put on hold, and you can't do those things anymore, because we have all been stuck in the same place for weeks without end. So why not use this time to find something in yourself that opens you up to a new story? A new path, be it a hobby, or an interest, it can be anything. I'm honestly hoping this will end soon because i want to start hanging out with my friends more. For now, just find something you've enjoyed doing in your past that you gave up on because you never believed that you could do it, or because you set on a different path. I guarantee that if you find the road you want to try and traverse, time will go by way faster than you think. Now is the time to find something new in you.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page