top of page

The Bond That Will Never Break

Last night, I experienced the most wonderful dream. The world was ending. By an "Armageddon"-like meteorite. I assumed this scenario formed because a lot was going in my mind that day. A few friends of mine aren't feeling well right now and some aren't communicating with me and especially in this time, you can't help but feel a little worried for everyone around you. This ultimately transitioned into the dream. At first, it started outside of my old high-school and there was a little black dot in the sky, then all of a sudden, the dot started to grow, until it filled up the sky and transformed the area into this apocalyptic wasteland. Gravity was all twisted, bits of buildings and cars were floating in the air and the sky was pitch black. There were even people screaming "the end of days" or "our time is done". It was also shown in really fantastic quality. Some dreams come out fuzzy and a bit blurry, and that is also why it becomes difficult to remember what happened. However, there are a rare few that play in high-definition, and because of that, you remember every single second, like a favorite movie you can't stop watching until you can perfectly reenact all the scenes. This was one of those. These pictures are flowing through my mind as I continue to write this. A lot of things are going on right now, and its stressful. Some are going back to regular life, even though the pandemic has not decreased. There are some small glimmers of hope, but we can't take advantage of those. I don't want you to look to this dream as a foresight for the near future, that it is a sign of our impending doom, because it wasn't.


The world was ending. It couldn't have been clear enough. I played the role of the "observer", where I just stood in a singular place and watched everything unfurl into chaos. I watched that black dot, stagnant in the sky, slowly grow bigger and bigger, and the more it did, the more I began to feel something wrong. There was this thing in my chest that tugged at me. This weird feeling was constantly there and it didn't go away, until then I realized. This dream felt too real...I felt fear.


People have the ability to control their dreams and sometimes are even conscious in their dreams, but this is only for a select few. A majority of the population are not active dreamers, so every time they dream, they think that it is real. It was my first time feeling something different that what I usually felt when having a dream. I felt that this dream was my reality. As the sky grew darker and darker, I became more scared than ever before. After this shock, I broke out of my "observer" role and began acting like one of the terrified people. Trying to run and hide as best I can in order to avoid my demise. Unfortunately, nothing worked. I was pushed out of my hiding spot as the earth began to turn into lava and crack. With nothing left to do, I just stood in the same place I was before, staring out into the horizon and accepted my fate. I didn't feel anything as I was burning up but the sight was even more agonizing than the pain I wouldve been feeling. I said to myself, "this was the end of the world" and tears began to roll down my eyes and the last thought I had before I was wiped off the face of the Earth was, "I never got to live my dream". Then everything went black. I didn't know where I was or what was happening. It was just pure darkness. No sound, no light, nothing. I couldn't see anything, hear anything, feel anything, taste anything, or even smell anything. It was an empty void. It was just me, alone. I curled up into a ball and continuously cried, and I tried to shut out the nothingness, but I couldn't. It was too real, and I was too scared to do anything.


Dreams are like seconds in our world, but when in the dreamscape, it feels like forever. I couldn't move. With the darkness slowly settling, the thought of being alone for eternity plagued my mind constantly. Then, all of a sudden, this bright-blue light started seeping in slowly. I didn't know where it was coming from. The light continued to grow and it formed the shape of a hand, reaching out to me. I uncovered myself and with nothing left to lose, I grabbed that hand. I am glad I did that, because after that, the most spectacular thing happened. I was able to see myself again, only it was different. My body was still the same but it was made up of that very same bright-blue light. I was a spirit. The one who reached out a hand was another person, and in fact, it was my friend. I began to smile and my friend did the same and then the world in my eyes started to light up with countless beautiful bright-blue flames. There were others like us, all together in the darkness. We reached out our hands to the others who were lost, and then those people reached out their hands to others. Everyone kept linking their hands together until all of us, all 10 billion people in the entire world were holding hands in harmony. We were all holding each other's hands and we smiled. We smiled as we saw another big, bright, beautiful light envelop us and the entire void surrounding everything. We smiled as we saw the creation of another universe. Another world, and another home.


Then, I woke up.


I still felt scared about the world ending, but the "actual ending" made that fear go away, and I just lied flat on my bed, looked up, and smiled.


This power, this strength, does not have a form. It isn't physical, it isn't mental, and it isn't even social. It doesn't even have a meaning. It's just there and has always been there. The power of being together as one, being connected as one world, with nothing holding us back. Being connected as one being, one spirit. We are all from the same universe and from the same existence. None of us are different. Even if we are all lost to the inevitable darkness, there will always be that small glimmer of "hope" that will grab a hold of us and lead us into something new. No matter what it is, even if it is the world ending, there is always that small bright-blue light that will guide us to our future. We are all one, because we go...together.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page