top of page

Something or Nothing


If you could meet your future self, what would be the first thing you would say? Would you also believe that what you see is what you will be? What if it wasn't what you wanted? Then, if this was the case, would you stand against it and fight to make your own path, or would you allow that future embodiment to take form unto you?

A lot of questions, but they were worth pondering over the past few days. In fact, these thoughts manifested after a quick discussion with my acting coach before the weekend. We usually set up a meeting time on Fridays before class to go over our game plan for our students. During our discussion, my teacher noticed something from her curriculum that needed to be fixed, only then to later find out she already did it in the past. I wanted to get a good chuckle out of that so I said a little joke to her that I thought was amusing: "wow you just met your future self." Now, I was listening for a laugh or something along that line. Turns out, I didn't get that. Instead, my teacher stopped talking for a few minutes. I thought we got disconnected, so I asked to make sure she could still hear me. She was still on the line and then asked me to repeat what I said. Then I thought that it was because she didn't hear me the first time, but that wasn't the case. She heard me perfectly but she wanted to hear what I said again. I honestly didn't know why it was such a moment for her, so I asked why in order to figure out what her thoughts were, and she told me to think about it for a minute. I still didn't understand it. but after taking some time to really let that thought sit, I think I finally understand it. Well, my own way of understanding. Then, with all of my strength and courage, I sat down and wrote my answer........

I have no idea.

That's it. I haven't got the slightest clue what it meant to me. My mind was blank and not a single thought took form. I was confused, just sitting in my room and unable to muster up my solution. I really wondered what those words meant. Maybe that's why I took a brief hiatus from my website. Even as I went about my daily routine, I kept saying to myself, "was there a deeper meaning to meeting your future self?" Does it even have an answer? Can we even answer something that is a part of the future? So many questions filled my mind to the brim. All just from this single sentence. It sucked, not being able to answer something that sounded so incredibly simple. Then, it led me to thinking that the message, is blank. Just a small statement drifting through our endless sea of words, without an answer. However, that doesn't mean its bad to not have an answer, but it is also not good. Why? Well, you should ask that yourself.

Sometimes in life, we never have an answer. Whether its for our career, our relationships, our health, and many other components of ourselves that we still feel that we leave empty. Don't worry, it is normal. Honestly, it's hard coming up with a solution. So, I'm not going to sugarcoat it for you and say "oh it will get better", "all you have to do is get out there", or even "all you need to do is stay positive". It never works. Those are just phrases we have had drilled into our heads by our loved ones and our friends. Always on our minds, thinking that "if we smile and stay happy and persevere, good things will happen", that we will be able to discover that answer. Will it though? I mean sure, it makes others feel better about their day, you as well, but in reality, all that you're doing is just saying that to yourself. It is just an empty sentence with no feeling. I've had this happen to me a lot of times. Times when I just had that thought going constantly, always repeating itself, but with no feeling. Just plain words, and I feel even emptier. Is that really what they want you to think? That if you say those words, everything is going to get better, like some sort of charm that starts a miracle? That you will come up with an answer out of thin air? No way. That is not how it works. Not in our world, or in any other world. Words are just words. Just a simple form of communication. You 'meeting your future self'? Just words.

Why is that? Why do we question such a small, tiny, insignificant sentence that causes so much trouble and stress? I have an answer, and yet, I don't. Its about our feelings. Its what we believe to be the answer for us. What we believe we were destined to do. I cannot answer this for you, it is all up to you. Maybe it will guide you to fame or fortune, or it may lead you to doing nothing at all. That is why this post may be confusing to some. I am not taking either side, because it is not my place to decide ones fate, ones destiny. My goal is to just impart this knowledge unto you that will help you choose. You may have to spend at least 2 weeks on it. You will probably also try to distract yourself with YouTube videos, or hanging out with friends, or even reading a 1000 paged book. I know I did.

I am not giving you an answer, because I want you to find that answer for yourself.

What is your story?


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page